Afghanistan star Rashid Khan emerged as the very first pick in The Hundred draft which had string of surprises with major household names going unsold. Rashid is currently plying his trade in the Shpageeza Cricket League with the Band-e-Amir Dragons and on Sunday, the Afghanistan sensation became the first overall pick of the new eight-team UK-based tournament. Rashid was roped in by Trent Rockets while Southern Brave bagged power-hitter Andre Russell to spearhead their side for the unique competition which will have 100 balls per innings.

Joining Russell will be Aussie southpaw David Warner, who is also picked by Southern Brave. Concluding the first round phase was Warner's counterpart Aaron Finch as the Aussie star batsman went to the Leeds-based Northern Superchargers. Despite having a decade of experience in his resume for the shortest format of the game, legendary West Indies batsman Chris Gayle was surprisedly unsold in The Hundred draft.

Veteran Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga along with South Africa premier pacer Kagiso Rabada were also snubbed as franchisees failed to meet the players' respective price tag. All participating teams of the Hundred draft were handed two picks for the opening round barring Phoenix, Spirit and Oval Invincibles. The three teams had been allotted the second spots in the £125,000 price region to local icon players.

Oval Invincibles

Sunil Narine, Sandeep Lamichhane, Fabian Allen, Tom Curran, Jason Roy, Sam Billings, Rilee Rossouw, Reece Topley, Hardus Viljoen, Alex Blake, Will Jacks, Chris Wood, Nathan Sowter, Laurie Evans.

Trent Rockets

Joe Root, Rashid Khan, D’Arcy Short, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Lewis Gregory, Steven Mullaney, Matthew Carter, Luke Wood, Tom Moores, Dawid Malan, Ben Cox, Luke Fletcher, Luke Wright.

London Spirit

Rory Burns, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Amir, Dan Lawrence, Eoin Morgan, Roelof van der Merwe, Mark Wood, Joe Denly, Mason Crane, Kyle Abbott, Adam Rossington, Zak Crawley, Jade Dernbach, Luis Reece.

Northern Superchargers:

Ben Stokes, Aaron Finch, Mujeeb-Ur-Rahman, Chris Lynn, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Adam Lyth, Richard Gleeson, Ben Foakes, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, David Wiese, Nathan Rimmington, Brydon Carse, Ed Barnard, John Simpson.

Manchester Originals: Jos Buttler, Imran Tahir, Daniel Christian, Mitchell Santner, Saqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson, Dane Vilas, Phil Salt, Tom Abell, Wayne Madsen, Wayne Parnell, Joe Clarke, Marchant de Lange, Eddie Byrom, Ed Pollock.

Southern Brave: Jofra Archer, Andre Russell, David Warner, Shadab Khan, Chris Jordan, James Vince, Liam Dawson, Tymal Mills, Ross Whiteley, Delray Rawlins, Ollie Pope, George Garton, Alex Davies, Max Waller, Craig Overton.

Welsh Fire: Jonny Bairstow, Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith, Qais Ahmed, Tom Banton, Colin Ingram, Ben Duckett, Ravi Rampaul, Simon Harmer, Liam Plunkett, Ryan ten Doeschate, David Payne, Ryan Higgins, Danny Briggs, Leus du Plooy.

Birmingham Phoenix: Chris Woakes, Kane Williamson, Shaheen Afridi, Adam Zampa, Moeen Ali, Pat Brown, Liam Livingstone, Ravi Bopara, Benny Howell, Tom Helm, Adam Hose, Cameron Delport, Henry Brookes, Riki Wessels, Chris Cooke.